Wednesday, August 31, 2011

Stiff Sticks win 2011 Men's Supper League!

Fairway Frank Comito carried the Stiff Sticks to victory on the fairways and greens of the Carroll Country Club by smashing the tomatoes of Tomato John Gradoville. The winning team was Mike Nelson, Frank Comito, Chip Wittrock and Neal Cross.

The team of Tomato John Gradoville, Mike Loehr, Rick Grote and Nick Fangman finish second.

The team of Pat "Spanky" Vollstedt, Steve "Cuda" Quandt, Papa Joe Pick and Tom Duff finish in 3rd after beating the Commercial Savings Bank. Papa Joe Pick and Cuda Quandt were all smiles for beating the two younger Pick boys.

The Commercial Savings Bank team of Jay Westerkamp, Brad Pick, Dirk Glynn, Aaron Pick and Ryan Milligan spent a lot of weeks at the top only to settle for fourth.

Budweiser team leader Pat Malloy was presented the coach of year award by Bud One Jim Auen for reshaping the old Miller Lite team into a Supper league contender.

In a post round interview Malloy said "I would like to thank all the hard work of my team. Their dedication to the game really showed."

Paul Tigges and Brian Billmeier handed out umbrellas to Flying Bob Raue, Brad Pick, Scott Monical, Brian Widdel, Bob Muhlbauer, Aaron Pick and Tomato John Gradoville.

Low gross winners were Collin Hackett and Mike Nelson. Low net winners were the Carroll Cycle Center's head man Terry Ruchti and Monument Man Loren Boyce. Closest to the pin awards went to Brad Stork and Fairway Frank Comito. Longest putt award winners were Pat Macke and Jair Mayhall.

Thanks to Paul and Brian for their hard work organizing and running this year's league.

Stop out to your club and meet our new manager Carrie Swinney Riesberg. Welcome Carrie!

Best of luck to Captain Kirk Ferentz and the Iowa Hawkeyes as they open their season this Saturday at Kinnick Stadium.

Please keep Uncle Bruce Pettitt in your thoughts and prayers as he continues to recover from his surgery. Hang in there UB we look forward to seeing you soon!

This summer has been challenging for the Franey household and we have gotten through it all because of the thoughts, prayers and help that we received from our family and friends. From the bottom of our hearts I would like to say thank you!

As always this Buds for you and On Iowa!


Monday, August 29, 2011

Scott Quandt wins 2011 Bill Franey Open

Even with a two shot lead on the final hole Scott Quandt of Carroll was not totally believing he could win his first Bill Franey Open at the Raccoon Valley Golf Course in Jefferson on Sunday. After two time champion Craig Mertz blistered his drive down the middle of the fairway on the closing hole Quandt turned to his caddie Carroll Country Club Golf Professional Paul Tigges and said “with my luck in this tournament he(referring to Mertz) will probably make it from there.” Quandt has finished in 2nd place four out the 1st five years of the tournament. Quandt’s winning score of 102 is the lowest 27 hole total in the history of the tournament. Quandt most recently won the club tournament at the Carroll Country Club and has a couple of other wins this summer. “It is good to see him finally break through and win. He is a solid player” said tournament director Mike Franey. After the round Quandt said “I love playing this tournament it is awesome.”

Two time champion Craig Mertz finished three shots back in second. Micah Destival finished in third with 106 and former Carroll Country Club professional Joe Ward was fourth with 107. Former champions Mike Eckerman, Wade Pettitt and Aaron Ahrendson were not in this year’s field.
The tournament named after Bill Franey, father of Mike Franey of Carroll who passed away in May of 2006 attracted 39 of the 72 players in the field. The tournament was formerly known as the Al Hoy Memorial, where Franey served as the tournament director for 25 years. In 2006 the board of directors of the golf course renamed the tournament the Bill Franey Open.

Proceeds from the tournament support a scholarship given annually to a student training to be an electric lineman at Northwest Community College in Sheldon. Franey was a lineman for the Midland Power Coop in Jefferson for 31 years and served as line superintendent for another 10 years.

All golfers played 18 holes with the low 16 players qualifying for a final championship nine holes. Joe Ward and Scott Quandt shared medalist honors in the final round with very impressive rounds of four under par 32.
Other Carroll golfers in the championship flight were Steve Sinnard 111, Lonny Lehrkamp, who was celebrating a birthday on Sunday, 111, Eric Buttenbach, formerly of Carroll, 111, Corey Bluml and Collin Hackett 113 and Nate Ward, formerly of Carroll 117.

Steve “Cuda” Quandt was second in the first flight and Wyatt Haukap finished in third with a 77. Others in the first flight were Bob Muhlbauer 78, Tony Pietig 78, Kuemper High School Senior Matt Gute 78, Adam Pick 78, John Dukes 79, John Weber 79. Mike Gute was second in the second flight with an 81 followed by Andy Reiman with a 82. Others in the second flight were Terry “Wong” Olson 83, Papa Joe Pick 83, Tim Gute 83, Pete Collison 83, Joe Cale 83, Frank Comito 84, Paul Tigges 84, Jon Hoffert 84, Steve Sapp 85, and Dave Nelson 85. Brad Stork placed 3rd in the 3rd flight with an 85. Others in the 3rd flight were Mike Franey 87, John Beiter 88, Mike Schulz 88, Pat Macke 88, Jim White 88 and Steve “Hans” Auen 89. Golfers in the fourth flight were Matt Lujano 93, Scott Tjaden 99, Mike McDermott 106 and Scott Kanne 112.

Champion Scott Quandt enjoys a photo with the girls of the Bill Franey Open.

Lonny Lehrkamp celebrated a birthday on Sunday at the Bill Franey Open.

Former Carroll Country Club Golf Professional Joe Ward finished in 4th with a final round 32 that tied Scott Quandt for medalist honors of the final round.

A big thank you to all who participated, volunteered or attended this year's event.

Mike Franey
Tournament Director
Bill Franey Open Golf Tournament